The first known humans in the area were in the pre-Roman ice age about 800 B.C. as documented by artifacts found in the
Deutmecker cave although this community was very weak and probably not long in duration. Deutmecke was first mentioned in
1279 in the 12th release of the noble family Rump, then again in a 1330 birth register of the St. Mary's Charities of Cologne-Deyfenbach.
The charity was financed primarily by Tilman Crasse von Affeln. The village of that time consisted of 8 farms, which
by the 18th century were divided into two groups: Full-yoke farms and half-yoke farms. Henrichs and Steckebrock were in charge
of the full-yoke farms. Kraushaar, Hachen, Heimes and Gehren were in charge of the half-yoke farms. (Yoke=1.44 acres)
History of Henrichs and
(For a more detailed account in English go to "Records-English" on the Navigation bar to your left)
Henrichs - Henrich's property existed until 1550 and was then transfered in name to Johan v. Schnellenberg of Schoenholthausen.
In 1563 the name Henrichs was changed to Johan of Deutmecke. It is this Henrichs that is associated with the property
that goes back to 1330, not necessarily the Henrichs-Korte family listed below. In 1589 v. Schnellenberg rented out
the farm in Deutmecke for 8 years to Ernst, Hindrich Johann's son, and his wife,Sophia. The rent consisted of (a long
list of farm related things and livestock). In 1617 and again in 1621 the name Johann Henrichs is added to the contract.
The financial register of 1633 introduces the name Johann Korte (probably the same one who married Ursula Richardes in 1929(see
my male line on the genealogy page), which is the first time he (or a Korte) is officially seen on Henrichs' farm
documents. There after these names appear as residents of the farm:
1649-Johann Korte;Bernhard & wife Gretha and son Johann.
1664-Bernt (Bernhard??) Korte (& wife Margaretha Kampman)
1685-Peter Korte,his wife Clara (Steckebrock) and son, Johan Englebert (trace all these names in my male-line on
the genealogy page) They also used the last name of Henrichs.
Peter Korte appears in 1686,1689, and 1695 documents as Peter Henrichs. It is officially recorded on December 30th,1717
that Peter Korte and his wife Klara acknowledge that the pastor in Schoenholthausen gave them 24 Taler (Dollar) in Memorial
after the deaths of Peter Spielmann and Tonnes Alckman.
Peter Korte's son, Johan Engelbert Korte then later married Katherine Boge from Duenschede in 1712 and had six children
but he died on 27 Aug 1927 and she then later married Anton Spielmann from Borbecke in 1729 and had three more. The
family estate however stayed with Johann Englebert Henrichs-Korte's decendants (including Johan Jodokus Henrichs-Korte who
later took the Kraushaar name upon marriage) and they maintained posession of the farm which in 1806 was valued at 405 Reichstaler
(Dollars) (Note: Johan Jodokus Henrichs Korte, as stated above, took the last name Kraushaar when he
married Maria Elizibeth Kraushaar, and SOME family members immigrated to the Banat, Hungary in the late 1700's, while other
family members stayed in Deutmecke. One who stayed was a son of Johan Jodokus Korte-Kraushaar and his name was Christoph Korte
B:26 Aug 1753 D:31 OCT 1831 who apparently did not use the Kraushaar name as those who went to the Banat did). Franz
Anton Korte liquidated the property in 1875, donating an annual sum of 2,771 Marks and 58 Pennies, with a tax of 110 Marks
and 86 Pennies that helped support the All Holy Vicary, church,pastorate and church school in Attnedorn.
Kraushaar & Rinke - The Kraushaar and Rinke farm was really one and the same. The property originally consisted
of 2 neighboring farms. Jacob Kraushaar sublet one from Schnellenberg and one from the All-Holy Church in Attendorn.
As a result the pastor of the church held property was able to rename it the Rinke Farm in 1786 (This would have been about
the time Johan Jodokus Henrichs-Korte Kraushaar left with some family members for the Banat). Johannes Kraushaar was
legally forced to give up portions of the farm because of debt. The Rinke farm was then leased to Mathias Poeggler in
Apparently the Kraushaar properties had been in the family since at least 1524, when Heinemann Cruishair owned about
12 hectars of land. In 1535 however the properties name was changed to Heinemann Rinke. On January 18th 1540 a portion
of this Rinke property was leased to Schnellenberg by Johann Loer, the Vice Curator of the church in Schoenholthausen.
in 1543 and again in 1550 Jacob Kraushaar was named (as a witness?), then on January 20th 1557 Heinemann Rinke is on the list
as a witness. In the 1563 financial register Jacob's name is changed to Heinemann Kraushaar and Schnellenberg leases
his own property for eight years to this same Heinemann Kraushaar and his wife Judith. Heinemann Kraushaar's sister
Grete married Jacob Sommerhoff from Ostentrop in 1561 (or possibly 1567). In 1617 Richard Kraushaar appears for the first
On April 17th, 1629 Schnellenburg transfers the lease to Johann Stael v. Holstein because Richard Kraushaar owed him
400 Reichstaler. Richard was forced to vacate the farm. The last renter was Engelbert Kraushaar and his wife Grethe
in 1649. Thereafter it's registered as the property of Johan Adam von Bruch and his wife Hermanna Margarethe Stael v. Holstein.
But then Hermanna Margarethe's father in law bought the loan on the Kraushaar farm in 1670 and he then rented it to Hans Kraushaar.
After that in 1685 Johann Kraushaar and his wife Lisa (probably AKA Elisibeth??, then they would be Anton's parents) took
posession of the farm and after that there were various attempts by different people to buy the farm, most notably Berhard
v. Schnellenberg in 1743, but that apparently NEVER happened and the Kraushaar's remained in possession of the farm
for years into the future. The next in line to take possession then was Johan's son Anton. (Note: a record in 1717 listed
the farm residents as Anton Kraushaar & his wife Elisabeth, his sisters Clara and Maria as well as his brothers Johan
and Engelbert. It would have been about this time between 1716-1732 that Anton's six daughters were born).
According to the text "Aus dem Rechnungsuch der St Agatha Kapelle Deutmecke 1715-1834" which translates into "The financial
records of St Agatha Church-Deutmecke 1715-1834" paragraph 5 page 231: Johan Casper Steckbrock, the son of Anna Maria Schulte-Avermann
and Johan Steckbrock Jr. married Anna Maria Kraushaar ( Anton's third oldest daughter)and left the farm to their daughter,
Maria Catherina Steckebrock, who married Johann Franz Wichtmann in 1774. The descendants of this union (Kraushaar) Steckebrock-Wichtmann,
still own the property in Deutmecke today. (Although it's not explained in the text in 1875 an Anton Wichtman-Kraushaar
donated (sold) a large portion of the farm to the Choir chapter in Attendorn for the sum of 398 Marks and 50 pennies.)
Here is information and an English translation of the debt court document on when and why the Kraushaar
farm was reduced in size and some family members went to the Banat:
This is an excerpt from pages 73-77:
Pfarrarchiv S c h ö n h o l t h a u s e n
F I N D B U C H
(The Schoenholthausen Parish Archives)
This legal and church involved proceeding could have something to do with some Deutmecke Kraushaar’s leaving
Germany and moving to the Banat in Hungary to homestead, as this document appears there was some turmoil surrounding the Kraushaar
farm and the sub-dividing of it in 1786 (the year Johann immigrated to the Banat to homested), perhaps due to this debt. Although research indicates that some Kraushaar’s remained in Deutmecke on the
farm which was retained by Anna Maria Kraushaar-Steckbrock (another daughter of Anton Kraushaar), however it was reduced in
1786 August 23. Johannes Kraushaar in Deutmecke compared documents with minister Bertram in Schoenholthausen Volume
2 - 75 - over the Rinckeguetchen, from which the Pastor demands a delivery and had a complaint. Kraushaar gives up for the
paying off of all requirements: a) Barn together with yard to the stream and the Henrichs garden. b) the Leinkamp, c) ¼ in
the Mark, d) ¼ of the Junckholz with the gluing to loads. He signs then leaves the free court
broke and confirms. Judicial execution with signature and seal of the kurfuerstlichen judge Hoeynck. Attached: The
Minister Toellmann leases everything with different plots ( see the following document of same day) that Mathias Poeggeler,
may re-do the barn at his own expense and changes to the house and 10 ½ Tollar. The lease must pay and the profit money of 1 Tollar (Dollar). The Minister of Desks notes that only 4.7 Tollar of the lease
of the Pastor and 4 Tollar to the church were paid. 1786 August 23. Johannes
Kraushaar of Deutmecke professes himself of documents to the old debt of 100 Tollar, each with that volume 2 the Pastor and church and signs it on August 23 in 1786. Johannes Kraushaar of Deutmecke admits 100 tollar
of the documents parish church and Pastorat. to volume owe 2, for which 3 Scheffel on the Fohenfuhr, in the same way on the
Dufenschlade, 3 ½ Scheffels, in the Vossmecke with the meadow beside it, a truck hay stature largely, 6 Scheffels behind the
Reitzebeil, 6 Scheffels am(?) Hageberg under the seed mountain, in the same way in the Brauteri-76 - schem mountain, 12 Scheffels.
Oats country on the carrot stone together with Heidland and all loads retired. He then signs and lets the contract judicially
confirm. Managing the original..
Note: This debt may have stemmed from the extraordinary dowry of his Aunt Maria Catharina Kraushaar (sister of Maria Elizibeth
and daughter of Anton Kraushaar) when she married Wilhelm Vigener in Attendorn November 13, 1753. I am told this by the current owners of the Kraushaar farm, themselves Kraushaar descendants, who
also told me the farm was then in debt for decades after the dowry and the court case went on for years and years until it
was finally settled by Johann Kraushaar in 1786.